NIH adds eight Lasker Clinical Research Scholars

These exceptional early stage scientists continue agency commitment to the next generation of biomedical researchers

The National Institutes of Health has selected eight scientists as Lasker Clinical Research Scholars, part of a joint initiative with the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, to foster the next generation of great clinical scientists. This highly competitive program provides talented, early stage researchers the opportunity to carry out independent clinical and translational research for five to seven years at NIH. The researchers also have the possibility of additional years of financial support, at NIH or an NIH-funded research institution, upon project review. The new researchers join 15 Lasker Scholars hired since 2012.

“Adding to the impressive cadre of Lasker Scholars at NIH, these new clinician-scientists will continue to produce innovative discoveries that affirm our investment in some of the boldest young minds in biomedical research,” said NIH Director Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D.

Lasker Scholars have access to the NIH Clinical Center, the largest hospital in the world devoted to clinical research. The Lasker Foundation will provide additional developmental support to the scholars while they are working at NIH by funding travel to scientific meetings and providing the opportunity to participate in selected foundation activities, including the Lasker Award ceremonies.

The eight new Lasker Scholars are: Catherine Cukras, M.D., Ph.D., National Eye Institute (NEI); John Dekker, M.D., Ph.D., National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID); Christopher Kanakry, M.D., National Cancer Institute (NCI); Jonathan Lyons, M.D., NIAID; Sonja Scholz, M.D., Ph.D., National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS); Nida Sen, M.D., NEI; Jack Shern, M.D., NCI; and Jing Wu, M.D., Ph.D., NCI.

Learn about the research each new Lasker Scholar is pursuing.

Read more View All News

This page was last updated on Friday, January 21, 2022