Crafoord Prize

The Crafoord Prize is a major international science prize award by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the Crafoord Foundation in Lund, Sweden. The Prize recognizes outstanding scientists who have produced important advances in basic scientific research. First awarded in 1982, the Crafood Prize is one of the world's largest and most prestigious scientific awards, with winners recieving 6 million Swedish krona (about $700,000 USD). Prizes are awarded on a rotating basis in four subject areas that complement the Nobel Prizes and rotate from year to year: mathematics and astronomy, geosciences, biosciences (with an emphasis on ecology), and polyarthritis.

  • Daniel L. Kastner (2021). For establishing the concept of autoinflammatory diseases, including identifying the mechanisms responsible for familial Mediterranean fever, tumor necrosis factor receptor-associated periodic syndrome (TRAPS), and other rare autoimmune diseases in which the immune system attacks the body.

This page was last updated on Monday, January 10, 2022