Searle Scholars

The Searle Scholars Program makes grants to selected academic institutions to support the independent research of outstanding individuals who have recently begun their first appointment at the assistant professor level, and whose appointment is a tenure-track position. Today, 147 institutions are invited to participate in the Program.

Each year 15 new individuals are named Searle Scholars. The following members of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Intramural Research Program (IRP) are current or former Searle Scholars:

  • Antonina I. Roll-Mecak (2010). Her laboratory is interested in understanding the interplay between microtubules and their regulators and how tubulin post-translational modifications tune the behavior of motors and microtubule associated proteins.
  • Pamela Schwartzberg (1999). She studies signal transduction involving cytoplasmic tyrosine kinases and the defects in these pathways that contribute to disease processes.
  • Gregory K. Farber (1991). His work is aimed at trying to use the models derived from protein crystal structures to understand biological problems, with a focus on examining the motions which occur as an enzyme catalyzes a reaction.
  • Jeremy M. Berg (1987). He is interested in understanding the various roles that metal ions play in biological systems, with an emphasis on several large families of proteins that contain structural domains stabilized by bound zinc ions.

This page was last updated on Tuesday, August 23, 2022