National Medal of Technology and Innovation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation is an honor granted by the President of the United States to American inventors and innovators who have made significant contributions to the development of new and important technology.

Steven Rosenberg (2023) received the award for his pioneering work on immunotherapy, a form of treatment that helps a person’s own immune system fight cancer.

Douglas Lowy and John Schiller (2014), whose discovery contributed to the commercially developed HPV vaccines. Read the press release from the White House.

Roscoe Brady (2008) received this medal for outstanding contributions to the Nation’s economic, environmental, and social well-being through technological innovation. Read the NIH Record story.

This page was last updated on Wednesday, October 25, 2023