About The NIH Catalyst

The NIH Catalyst showcases the scientific research conducted at the National Institutes of Health and contains feature stories, essays, breaking news on NIH research, profiles, and information about Scientific Interest Groups, as well as articles on new scientific methods, NIH history, the Clinical Center, and more.

The NIH Catalyst comes out six times a year (January–February, March–April, May–June, July–August, September–October, and November–December). You can access the current issue as well as browse the newsletter archive, which dates back to 1994.

To submit articles, photos, announcements, or other materials for consideration, email catalyst@nih.gov, or call 301-402-1449, or fax 301-402-1434, or mail The NIH Catalyst, Building 60, Room 232, MSC 4730, Bethesda, MD 20892.

•  Jan-Feb issue: Dec 1 (Nov 15 for features and profiles: December 15 for announcements)
•  Mar-Apr issue: Feb 1 (Jan 15 for features and profiles; February 15 for announcements)
•  May-June issue: April 1 (March 15 for features and profiles; April 15 for announcements)
•  July-Aug issue: June 1 (May 15 for features and profiles; June 15 for announcements)
•  Sept-Oct issue: Aug 1 (July 15 for features and profiles; August 15 for announcements)
•  Nov-Dec issue: Oct 1 (Sept 15 for features and profiles; Oct 15 for announcements)

The content is reprintable without permission but please notify The NIH Catalyst at catalyst@nih.gov. Photos may be available upon request.


Nina Schor
Deputy Director for Intramural Research
Office of the Director


Laura Stephenson Carter


John I. Gallin
NIH Associate Director for Clinical Research
Chief Scientific Officer, NIH Clinical Center

Richard S. Chadwick
Scientist Emeritus, NIDCD


Christopher Wanjek
Director of Communications
Office of Intramural Research

Science Writer-Editor

Michael Tabasko

Copy Editor

Shauna Roberts

Editorial Advisory Board

Christina Annunziata, NCI
Daniel Appella, NIDDK
Trevor Archer, NIEHS
Michael Espey, NCI
Audray Harris, NIAID
Susan Leitman, CC
Larisa Gearhart-Serna (fellow)
Bernard Moss, NIAID
Roland Owens, OIR
Hyun Park, NCI
Julie Segre, NHGRI
Andrew Singleton, NIA
Gisela Storz, NICHD
Ronald Summers, CC
Wei Yang, NIDDK